top of page

Welcome to Vietnam


We have arrived in Hanoi! Since arriving, things have gone relatively smoothly but the journey here was entertaining to say the least. After a wonderful and refreshing vacation in Bali, James and I headed to the Denpasar Airport at 5am. When we arrived to check in, we saw an unfortunately long line snaking around the counters. After some time we realized that the computer systems were down. We moaned and groaned along with the other passengers and made friends with a friendly Australian lady who gave us waiting mints. By the time we made it to the front, it was 7:05. Our flight left at 7. So we raced through security, stopping for an emergency croissant on the way. By the time we made it to the bus that would take us to the plane, we realized that we, along with one other couple, were the very last to arrive and they were holding the plane for us. Slightly embarrassing, slightly cool. The second plane was equally entertaining and was filled with some very interesting characters including a shouting lady and a man with a very long mole hair, but we eventually made it to Vietnam. Every time James and I have traveled together so far, something has gone almost terribly wrong, but it always works out.

We’ve been here for about two weeks now and it’s been pretty hectic, in our own lives and just in this city. There are so many people everywhere all the time. It’s hard to go to a bar or restaurant without just sitting in silence because you’re so captivated by the millions of people passing by. We also were originally staying in the Old Quarter which has to be the busiest and most touristy area of the city. It’s filled with hundreds of coffee shops and streets that wind and curve with no clear direction. We haven’t had much time to explore yet, but I’m very intrigued to see the different parts of this city and discover what people think makes it special. In many ways, Hanoi so far feels different from Yangon. The best way in which it’s different is the fact that you can pet the dogs here! There are almost no strays. It also feels much more developed and there are abundantly more foreigners. There seems to be easier access to things and goods I would want from the western world. I’m also still adjusting to the fact that you can wear shorts without getting weird looks. I know I shouldn’t be comparing the two cities as each will be special in their own way, but it’s hard not to notice all the little differences. One of the things I oddly miss most is how many convenience stores Myanmar had, it was so convenient!

Other than exploring downtown, we’ve been aggressively applying to jobs and going to more interviews that I feel like I ever have. There’s not a shortage of jobs here, but creating an ideal schedule has proved more than difficult. It’s slowly coming together so we will hopefully be up and running soon. We also recently moved to a shared house! And it’s beyond wonderful. Not only do I get to unpack my belongings, but there is some dope natural lighting and a balcony right off our room. It’s in the swanky western area of Hanoi which means it feels a bit removed from the average Vietnamese lifestyle, but it's quite pleasant and we’re on the hunt for more local/cheap food.

The transition from Yangon to Hanoi has not been the easiest, but it’s only been a few weeks. In Yangon, I was starting to feel as though I had a complete and settled life. I had my community. Leaving that for the unknown was, and still is, very difficult. I don’t know the people, the place, the culture. In Vietnam I have a partner, a sense of adventure, and a desire to try all the veggie food I can (and now a house!). So leaving the comforts I had previously had felt confusing and unsettling. But after my experience in Myanmar, I know that making a home just takes time. It took at least 3 months in Yangon to start to feel like I actually was living there. And I can’t wait until I get to that point again. But for now, I’ll enjoy the newness and beauty that there is in not knowing.

General life update summation: I have a job working at DreamSky, an English center, and am going through lots of training and shadowing classes which has been immensely helpful. Hopefully I’ll be getting more hours soon though because it’s quite the trek to only go there for an hour and a half. James has a job at another center which is pretty stable and sustainable. I also just got certified to teach with an online company which will hopefully get going soon. We moved into our house in Tay Ho and are getting to know the area and housemates. Will be back soon with more Vietnam thoughts!

bottom of page